help_outline Skip to main content

News / Articles

The Big Event at Plum Hollow C.C.

Published on 10/3/2023

The 54th annual Big Event was hosted on October 2nd by Golf Course Superintendent Dave Makulski & Assistant Superintendents, TC Decker and Alex Wilson at Plum Hollow C.C. Another great weather day for this early fall event with highs in the 80’s and spectacular conditions and service by the staff at Plum Hollow. This event is the last of the three fundraisers the MiGCSA has every year. The proceeds from these events help fund scholarships, donations, and philanthropic turf related interests like the Wee One Foundation, Turf Research and the MSU Turf Club.

A very special thank you to our Hole Sponsors: EZGO (they also provided rental carts we needed to support this sold out event) Spartan Distributors, Bio Health, Rhino Seed, Standard Golf, GAM, BASF, Harrell’s, Autmow/Traqnology, MSU Turf Club, Revels, Club Car/Ladd’s, Porous Pave, Golf Cars Plus/Yamaha, Target Specialty Products, Nufarm, Young’s Turf Farms, Helena, Acu Spray, ENVU, Heritage Professional Products, Matt LaFontaine Automotive, Site One, Syngenta, Trimax/Timber Wolf & Aspen Outdoors.

Special thanks to beverage sponsor: David Herman & Associates. & Sunbelt Rentals

Thank you to Jay Hults, Plum Hollow Member, GAM President & Chair of the GAM Green Committee for helping with this event, participating and for speaking to the group after golf. Also thank you to GAM Executive Director Chris Whitten for participating and speaking to the group as well about the great relationship the MiGCSA and our members have with the GAM.  

Also special thanks to our host PGA Professionals General Manager, Richard Burkardt, Tom Rose Director of Golf, Head Pro, Julian Thompson & Peter Mogg, Outside Services Manager. Also helping to make this event possible Executive Chef Ed Evans, David Cuda, Clubhouse Manager, Brittany Pacheco, Dining Room Manager and Kate Castillenti, Director of Events & Catering.

Here are the results:

Closest to the pins were won by Jasin Marzec, Alex Nagy, Evan Herman, Gary Johnson & Jake Palm. Longest drive winners were Alex Larsen & Al Perkins. Longest putt was made by Danny Graft.   

Winning Scramble Teams:
1st place – Doug Rusieki & Team Rustic Glen (56)
2nd place – Michael Leach, Andrew Christensen, Kyle Schierlinger & Chuck Yago (59)
3rd place – Thomas Jones, Jim Omietanski, Don Rohaff & Terry Welsh (60, scorecard playoff)

The only skin was won by the US Golf Cars/Ladd’s team with an eagle 2 on hole #18.

All Team Photos Here

Our 2023 Winning Team! 


(616) 834-0450