Skip to main content

News / Articles

Submit an Edwin Budding Award nomination by Aug. 30

Published on 7/31/2023


The GCSAA Edwin Budding Award is given annually to an individual in the turf equipment industry whose actions have gone above and beyond the norm to help shape the turf equipment management industry into what it is today. Edwin Budding was one of those individuals who helped define golf, not as a player, but as an engineer. He designed the first reel mower, which has shaped golf as we know it today.


Nominees must have influenced significant impact within the turf equipment industry above and beyond normal day-to-day work. The contribution must be significant in both substance and duration and result in an actual, measurable accomplishment. The nominee must not have been a recipient of this award during the preceding 10 years. An individual may be nominated by a chapter of GCSAA, any member of GCSAA or any qualified golf association. The winner will be chosen by the GCSAA Board of Directors, and the winner will receive the award at the annual GCSAA Conference and Trade Show.


The Edwin Budding Award winner receives:

  • Complimentary full-pack registration to the GCSAA Conference and Trade Show, and select air/hotel travel expenses for the winner and spouse.
  • Recognition in GCSAA publications and websites
  • Recognition at the GCSAA Conference and Trade Show
  • National, regional and local publicity
  • Personalized plaque
  • Name on a permanent plaque at GCSAA headquarters


Nominations for the 2023 Edwin Budding Award are open through Aug. 30, 2023.

Submit a nomination »

For more information contact Diana Kern, senior manager, CTEM certification and certificate programs, by email at, by phone at 785-832-3600, by fax at 785-832-4488, or by mail to GCSAA, 1421 Research Park Dr., Lawrence, KS 66049-3859.


(616) 834-0450